Sunday, June 23, 2024

SNLD Selects Candidates To Contest General Election

Must read

The Shan Nationalities League for Democracy (SNLD) selected candidates in townships across Shan State last Sunday (July 12) to contest the 2020 general election.

SNLD held its party election at Mwe Taw Monastery in Mongpan town, located in southern Shan State.

Sai Kyaw Khine, current SNLD chair for Mongpan Township, Sai Aung Tun and Sai Min Zaw Oo competed for who will contest a seat in People’s Parliament during the upcoming general election. Sai Kham Seng Hurng (aka Sai Kyi Ko) and Sai Seng Kaew Sam (aka Saw Taw) competed for  the right to contest Seat-1 in Shan State Parliament. And Saw Kyaw, Kyaw Hlaing and Nang Than Tin competed for contesting Seat-2 in Shan State Parliament.

Sai Khur, who lives in Mongpan town, told SHAN that Sai Kyaw Khine was elected as the People’s Parliament candidate. Sai Seng Kaew Sam will contest Seat-1 and Nang Than Tin will contest Seat-2.

Sai Noung, representing Shan Nationalities Democratic Party (SNDP), secured a seat in Shan State Parliament for Mongpan Township during the 2015 election. It was the only seat the SNDP won in Shan State.

2020 07 10 SNLD Tang Yan
SNLD Tang Yan Selects Candidates

SNLD also selected candidates in Mong Kung and Laikha townships in southern Shan State, and in northern Shan State in Tangyan, Muse, Hsipaw townships.

SNLD was founded on October 26, 1988. During the 1990 election, it won a landslide victory in Shan State and secured the second highest seats in Burma. SNLD did not run in the 2010 election. During the 2015 election, SNLD won 46 seats, placing third overall in the state.

The current SNLD chair is Khun Htun Oo.

Leave a Comments

- Advertisement -SHAN's App

Latest article